2018 Best Design Awards Finalists Announced

< Asia Pacific Education purchases IT tertiary provider Computer Power Plus | 2018 Newmarket Window Display Awards >

2018 Best Design Awards Finalists Announced

Every year, The Designers Institute of New Zealand (DINZ) organises the inaugural Best Design Awards. The awards are divided into multiple categories including Graphic, Spatial, Product, Interactive and Motion Design, alongside four boutique awards called the Ngā Aho Award, the Public Good Award, the User Experience Award and the Value of Design Award. Well-established and known to be the largest across Australasia, the awards are both prestigious and recognised as raising the bar of New Zealand design.

Of the inspiration for his submissions, Year 4 BFA Graphic Design student Wayne Shih, who was amongst the coveted list of finalists says “My works are heavily research-based. Most of the visuals are influenced by scientific journals and papers, or through historical archives.”

Receiving a finalist nomination in both the Graphic Category and Public Good Award Category, Wayne explains the rationale behind each design. “I entered two projects into Best Awards this year. One publication and one branding project, Moa – Kiwi and the Kauri Dieback campaign, respectfully. Moa – Kiwi was an experimental publication for Tiakanga Rangahau, the rationale was using the extinction of Moa birds and applying them to the Kiwi birds which a few years ago were classified as endangered. I was experimenting visually through the highly documented colonial pākehā researchers and the Māori myth and legends surrounding the birds.

Kauri in the Waitākere Ranges are dying from a disease known as the kauri dieback. This project was entered in the Public Good category, it’s a proposal rebrand for Auckland Council Te Kaunihera o Tāmaki Makaurau and Ministry for Primary Industries Manatū Ahu Matua for their public awareness campaign and signages for the cleaning stations.”

In addition to Wayne, other BFA Graphic Design students and recent graduates, Ken Khun, Emma Marriot, Kimberley Burrows, Eva Chen, Roheet Uka, and Kay Tasma are also finalists. The Best Design Awards night will be held on September 22. Tickets are available for purchase here.

See the finalists submitted work on the Best Design Awards website.

Image: Wayne Shih's submission in the Public Good category, a rebranding proposal for the Kauri Dieback campaign.

<< News  < Asia Pacific Education purchases IT tertiary provider Computer Power Plus | 2018 Newmarket Window Display Awards >